My Life History in Five-Year Increments

35 years ago… I was 2 years old, living in Minneapolis with my mom, dad, brother, and our springer spaniel named Shandy.

30 years ago… I was 7 years old, living in Aitkin, MN. Shandy was still around, and we had a black lab – either Amos or Stu (not sure which at that point). Mrs. Lake was my second-grade teacher at Rippleside Elementary School. Nancy was my best friend.

25 years ago… I was 12 and in the seventh grade at Aitkin High School. Nancy and I hadn’t spoken to each other during sixth grade, but somehow managed to make up and forge a friendship again before we had to brave the halls of the high school which was grades 7-12. We had a black lab named Molly.

20 years ago… I was in the first semester of my last year of high school at Totino-Grace High School in Fridley, MN. It was a Catholic school. I played volleyball and track, and was quite a math student. Molly the dog spent a lot of time scraping her front teeth on the drywall next to the sliding glass door that was near my bedroom.

15 years ago… I was living near the U of MN with Julie R and was working at the Borders Bookstore in Minnetonka, MN and Micawber’s Books in St. Paul, MN. I was also actively studying for my GRE exams so I could apply to library school. No dogs.

10 years ago… I was living in Cedar Falls, Iowa and working at the University of Northern Iowa as a librarian, in my second professional job. I had just started working on a second master’s degree and was beginning to realize that Iowa was not a place where I wanted to stay. No dogs.

5 years ago… I was working at Swarthmore College in the suburbs of Philadelphia, and had just purchased a row house in West Philadelphia, for the express purpose of getting a dog.

1 year ago… I was working at Wellesley College in the suburbs of Boston, living with my wife Amy and our two mutts, Maggie and Otter, in our home in Natick, MA. I was in my second year of doing NaBloPoMo.

There are a lot of important events that don’t show up in this reflection – 4 years of college, 18 months of grad school, my first post-MLS job, the birth of my niece, getting a dog, meeting Amy, getting a second dog, and marrying Amy. Still, it’s a neat little timeline. I’ll try to do it again next year to see what shows up.